Life experiences

I’ve recently been considering what I’m going to do for my next writing project.  I have a couple of ideas that I’m working on fleshing out that should be pretty interesting if they actually come to fruition.

It’s important to write about what you know and based on what I know I’ve chosen two separate projects.  The first is a four books series about a girl named Paisley Tines.  The second is a series about a woman, BreAnna Anderson, who is an abusive marriage and trying to get out.

We’re introduced to Paisley when she’s in 9th grade through her diary. She’s a complex young woman who is very smart.  She’s interested in boys, clothes, and school. She worries about her body and what it looks like.  She has a bright future but has difficulty in fleshing it out.  As we follow her through her high school experience we get to know her on a very personal level.  It’s my hope that she’ll be able to transcend just one person’s high school experience and be a person who can identify with us all.

In my second project BreAnna Anderson is a woman who is in an abusive marriage.   When we first meet her she’s just trying to get through day by day.  As we move through the story she realizes that she needs to find a way to get out.  She uses a variety of means to get the resources that she needs to get away.  We’ll follow her as she gets away from the abuse to to discover what life after abuse is really like.

In my own opinion, BreAnna’s story is extremely important because she’s going to show us that abuse can happen to anyone.  As I’ve said in previous posts, any kind of abuse has nothing to do with the victim.  She could be wearing or doing anything.  It has everything to do with someone else deciding to victimize you.

2 thoughts on “Life experiences”

  1. Hmm, I like both options. They both have appeal, I think. Consider setting? Minnesota? Midwest? You might find “Crazy Love,” the memoir of an abused woman, interesting. I enjoyed it, if that’s the right verb. The writing is good, and the story ends well.

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for the tip, I’ll definitely add it to my reading list. Admittedly, feminist theory and Freud are kind of dominating my life right now, but I’ll definitely add it to the list.

    I’m glad you find both ideas appealing. For Paisley I’m thinking leaving it somewhat generic so “Midwest” will probably be the best qualifier for her.

    For BreAnna I think that location specific (Minnesota) will be best. Much easier to write about an escape if you have a specific location, in my opition.

    Like

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

