What’s your favorite memory?

Every Wednesday my one of my favorite feminist bloggers over at Feministing does a feature called the Wednesday Weight-In. This week Maya Dusenberry asked us about our favorite memories.

Usually I just say something in the comments, but I felt that my thoughts for today were a little bit bigger than just a comment.  I would also like to invite you to share your favorite memory, or even just think about it.  Wrap yourself up in it like a blanket.

The first memory that came to my mind is an experience I had when I was about 6 years old.  My mom was pregnant with my sister, S.  I’m guessing that she was probably about 6 months along, because this experience was right before school started and S was born in November.  My mom promised my sister M and I a picnic to celebrate the last day before I started school (I was the only one old enough to be in school at that point.)  On the day of the picnic it was pouring outside.  There’s no way we could have a picnic.  M and I were crushed, we thought our fun day with mom was ruined.   Instead my mom rallied us together, spread out a blanket in our living room and we had the picnic right there.  I can’t remember what we ate, I just remember feeling so lucky to have a mom that would take me on a picnic in the living room.

Now it’s your turn?  What’s your favorite memory.  Make sure not to taint it with a negative thought.  Just hug it to yourself and let it brighten your day.

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

