Minneapolis Slut Walk

As the days get closer and closer to the Minneapolis Slut Walk I’ve been considering if I’m going to go.

When I first heard about it I knew that I was going to go.  Anything to end victim-blaming is something that is very easy for me to get on board with.  When I first heard about it I was blogging over on Hub Pages, and these are my original thoughts.  As you can tell by the date at this point, it was not held on August 6th.  And the last few months have really given me the opportunity for some introspection.  The big question being, am I going to go?  Because I think this is a really important movement I did donate to the cause.  But do I want to do more than just give (limited) financial support?

Yesterday, CBS Minnesota reported on Slut Walk and the comments were extremely disheartening to me.  As is often the case, commenters only read the headline before commenting.  As a result the majority of comments were blatantly ignorant, sexist, and just plain stupid.  To be honest, it was the comments that were both sexist and stupid (although, do I really need to add those qualifiers?) that really put fear into my heart.  The question “am I going to go?” became slightly bigger.  “Do I feel safe going?” and “I can accept that there will be people around calling participants sluts.  Is that something I can deal with?”  These are questions that I’m going to be battling over the next few days.  And to be honest, my personal emotional state on Saturday will probably be the biggest determining factor as to my participation. 

If you’ve gone to a Slut Walk or are thinking about going to one, what are some of the thoughts that you’ve had prior to your participation?

5 thoughts on “Minneapolis Slut Walk”

  1. Just go.
    You’re not doing anything wrong.
    …and people call women sluts in the street everyday, when you’re demonstrating against it, and have other people around you who feel the same you know they’ll have your back.

    We had our Reclaim the Night march last night.
    It was a lovely thing. People (men and women) young and old (there were a few tiddlers there 🙂 ) went along and got into the spirit of things. 🙂
    I didn’t have any fear of doing something I believe in.

    ..and you shouldn’t either.
    x

    Like

    1. Thanks DahlFace :). I ended up not going, to be honest. I had a few friends who were planning on going but they couldn’t at the last minute and my husband didn’t want to go with me. As a survivor of sexual violence, I knew that I couldn’t handle the “cat-calls” we were going to get by myself.

      Like

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

