Getting started as an author

If you read this blog regularly you know that I recently published my first short story, “The Life and Times of Rebecca Walker.”  Amazon has made it very easy for writers like me to get their work out there.  I prefer to write short stories and going to a publisher with a 15 page story and asking them to publish it seems like a something that probably won’t happen.

However, that means that all the work that a publisher would do to promote my work has to be done by me instead.  It is because of this that I spend a lot of my spare time (okay, time when I should be doing homework) marketing.  There are a few things that I’ve found really helpful for getting my name out there and getting some sales for my story.

1) Being active on the Kindle Direct Publishing forums.  This is a great way to “meet” other self-published authors and talk about effective ways to market your books.  Also, a lot of authors are willing to swap reviews which can be super helpful in increasing visibility to your book.

2) Using Twitter is also really helpful.  Following a lot of the authors that you meet on the KDP forums can increase your visibility.  Also following blogs that review indie work is helpful.  But don’t only follow author related stuff.  I’m sure you have other interests and following them can help to increase your visibility outside publisher circles and also helps your ideas from getting stale.  Authors are great, but there are a lot of other fish in the sea.

3) Tell your family that you’ve published a book! The first person that ever bought my story was my grandma.  Especially if you have a big family, that family can be a really great support network for you.

4) A blog here on WordPress that I’ve found to be extremely helpful is Kristen Lamb’s Blog.  She gives really good tips on how to market books and good people to connect with.  And her advice is really user friendly.  One thing that I appreciate is that she isn’t really snobby.  A lot of people that give advice to self-published authors have this air of superiority around their writing and Kristen doesn’t have that.

I hope that some or all of these tips are helpful to you.  Happy writing!

2 thoughts on “Getting started as an author”

  1. First – thanks for taking the time to stop by my blog the other day! 🙂

    Secondly – congrats on publishing! The publishing business is tough. I lucked into my deal, and since it’s a craft book it’s a whole different beast. My mother is self-publishing her book right now, and a pretty famous blogger I follow self-published his own book. However you can get your story out there, I say do it!

    Like

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

