Teenage sexuality

My gentle readers, I promite not to leave you hanging with one measly “I promise to write every day” post for today.  Really, what good does that do to anybody (least of all, me)?

However, I have to admit some difficulty in figuring out what to write about.  Slut Walk and various theories about rape culture (along with bathroom theory) have really been dominating my thoughts.  But there are other, equally important, things to talk about.

It is, with this thought in mind, that I’ve decided to talk about one of my upcoming writing projects.  This writing is not just for fun, it’s also for school.  Starting in January I have to do what is called a “capstone” project.  Basically I do tons of research and write a rather lengthy paper.  If I don’t do this I can’t graduate, so it’s clearly important.  However, I can do this project on any gender related topic of my choosing (so yeah, basically anything).  The decision of what to choose has weighed heavily on my mind for the last six months or so.  I’ve read every gender related text I can get my hands on. I’ve talked to people about gender related issues.  I’ve even eavesdropped on conversations to glean little bits of information that could be helpful to me in my search for a relevant topic. Because I could write about how gender identity effects the type of carpet chosen, but that seems somewhat silly.  I want to write about something that will actually help society.

**side note: Yes, I know that this is just an undergraduate research project and probably won’t be published in the American Sociologica Journal any time soon, but I can dream.**

This is why I’m hoping I can do some research on teenage sexuality.  Specifically, what do teens in rural high schools think of what it takes to be a “slut.”  Because nearly 20% of high school students go to what classify as rural school, this is certainly having an inpact on what our teens see as what a healthy sexuality is.  I’m also curious about this topic because sexual violence is significantly more prevalent in rural communities and doing research on what the rising generations percieve as healthy sexuality may be able to give some light into solving the problem.

The problem with this idea is that doing research on underaged people can be really difficult.  In fact, the Human Sujects Review Board (The Board) at my college may not even allow an undergraduate student to do this type of research.   The Board reviews all research projects done by people at the college to make sure that they are ethical.  A board of this sort is required at all institutions that recieve federal funds for research.

So, hopefully my idea will be approved and I can move forward in January.  And then you can look forward to me writing your ear off (or whatever the expression is) about teenage sexuality from January to May.

5 thoughts on “Teenage sexuality”

  1. I once blogged about a report on where teenagers were learning about sex (online, mostly), and it still gets hits, so I think this is a valid topic. Your first challenge is to make sure you and the teenagers are defining “slut” the same way, but still, I think this would be a valid research subject. Good luck.

    Like

  2. From what I remember of my semi-rural teens, my sexuality was a state of constant frustrated hopefulness…

    Seriously though, it sounds like a fascinating idea. Hope it goes well!

    Like

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

