College Hopes

School has been on my mind a lot lately.  What am I doing right now (seriously feel like I’m flying by the seat of my pants half the time), what am I going to do after I graduate? 

One thing that makes me really nervous is having to be a receptionist for a long time.  I love what I do right now, I couldn’t imagine being anywhere else.  But answering phones and soothing (many, many) students each and every day is not something I want to do for the next 30-40 years.

What’s more, I want to do something that affords me at least a little independence.  Being the low woman on the totem pole can get old really fast.  If being a professional writer pans out, awesome!  But anything else as well.  Teaching, marketing, etc.

Another concern is my student debt.  Unless you have fabulously wealthy parents, you’re probably going to graduate with at least a little debt.  I will have about $25,000 in debt when I graduate next August, and I consider myself lucky!  I know people that have graduated with double that.  I hope that I’ll be able to start paying down my loans before I graduate to create a little cushion for myself. I also have to consider my husbands debt, which is slightly more than mine.

Overall, college is a pretty risky business.  But in the end it’s worth it (right?).

 

3 thoughts on “College Hopes”

  1. I graduated from university in 2004 – going on to spend a further two years at law school, as a postgraduate – and still have considerable debts to repay.

    It is demoralising and frustrating, but – in my more optimistic moments – I try to remind myself that, had I not attended university, I wouldn’t have secured the career I have now.

    My little sister starts university next week and I do worry for her – about student fees, the recession, and whether there will be sufficient jobs available when she comes out the other side. It’s a gamble but, sometimes, you have to place confidence in your abilities and take a (calculated) risk.

    Thank you for your many kind comments on my blog. I love to read them!

    Sarah x

    http://stylesouk.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Thank you both for your comments, I always appreciate them :).

    Minnesotatransplant, thanks for the recommendation. I always enjoy your posts, they’re so great.

    Sarah, I love reading your blog. I’ve not always been a huge fan of fashion (goodness knows I’m not very fashionable), but I really appreciate how you talk about fashion without actually making readers feel bad about themselves. It’s quite the skill.

    These thoughts (specifically about debt) were spurred by an FP entry entitled “Oops, I got an English degree.” The author is bemoaning the fact that he can’t get a job with with his English degree from Sanford. But he graduated with no debt (parents paid) and he can continue to get help from his parents in the mean time. While sympathy was probably the intent of the entry, I really don’t feel any. Maybe that’s bad to admit, but I’ll take no debt, parental help, and no job over what I’m doing right now.

    Like

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

