Paisley Tines and the Sanction Chronicles

I’ve been doing a lot of research into the adolescent phase of life as I try to shape my character, Paisley Tines.  Some of the things I’ve tried to determine are what types of books, music, and television she would like.

One thing that I came across (oddly, I wasn’t actually doing research, I was just on Twitter) is a monthly series called “The Sanction Chronicles” which is about a group of interesting teens (vampires, werewolves, witches, etc) while they are in high school. I read the introductory page on Amazon and I found it to be amazing! This is exactly what Paisley would like to read when she’s not busy with school and volleyball.

Some of my most fond memories include reading in my room (especially when I should have been doing homework or doing my chores.)  I’m a loyalist when it comes to books and I read my favorites over and over again.  In high school I read a lot of what was just laying around the house.  My parents are both voracious readers and have quite the collection of books. One Christmas my dad got the works of Josephus (a Jewish historian) and I read the first volume.  I honestly couldn’t tell you now what it said (hopefully I’ll read them again soon), all I remember is wanting to know more.  I read books popular with the “smart” crowd, like 1984 by George Orwell.  I wanted to read books that made me smart.  But I also wanted to read my old favorites (even if I didn’t tell anyone about them.)  The Little House on the Prairie series, Dear American journals, and Anne of Green Gables were among my favorites.

As I’ve become a writer my reading has also gone up quite a bit. I’ve started reading best-sellers, new indie books that need reviews (so I can get reviews for my story), and books that I think would  be interesting for Paisley.  I’ve read more blogs, focusing on things to improve my craft.

It is because of all of this that I know that Paisley also has to enjoy reading, even if she doesn’t read as much as I did at 14.  Reading is a critical part of development and in terms of developing solid female characters (as I talk about here ).

What were some books that you read as a teen?  How do you think those  books shaped you?

6 thoughts on “Paisley Tines and the Sanction Chronicles”

  1. I read a lot of Star Trek and Star Wars books at that age. Most were adult books (I rarely ready YA books, even when growing up), so I ended up having high expectations of people’s literary skills. That makes me sorely disappointed in people these days.

    Like

    1. You and me both! I was surprised how old the average child is when they start learning to read. I started reading long before then. Partially because I didn’t go out and meet people often (I was a very indoor homebody growing up).

      Like

  2. Great post! I was a voracious reader even young! I read anything I could get my hands on. I’m a bit more discerning now, but then……btw I’ve read The Sanction Chronicles and I think it’s great! Good luck with Paisley

    Like

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

