Michael Myer – funny author on the block

I’m pleased to introduce Michael Meyer, a fellow Indie-author.  Michael’s books have well-developed characters and interesting takes on life.  When he’s not writing, he enjoys traveling and spending time with his wife.

1)Where are you from? 
 I live in Southern California wine country with my wife, Kitty, and our two other cats. I am an avid world traveler, though, having studied and lived in Thailand, Finland, Germany, Saudi Arabia, and the US Virgin Islands. I have literally traveled the world, on numerous occasions, and I have loved every minute of it. In fact, I just recently returned from a trip to northern Italy.

 2) When and why did you begin writing? 
I began writing at a very early age. In fact, I sold my first book to my parents when I was about ten. It was a little illustrated history of California. My teachers in both high school and college told me that I had real talent as a writer, so I wrote a lot in those and succeeding years. It wasn’t until last year, however, that I began to seriously contemplate publishing my own work.

 3) Is there a message in your work that you want readers to grasp?
 I want my readers to see how even the most frustrating aspects of life can have a humorous side. Life is short. Laughter is very healthy. If we can learn to laugh at ourselves and at the day-to-day dilemmas we face, I think we will be better people because of it.

 4) What books have most influenced your life most?
 As a youngster, I fell in love with the CURIOUS GEORGE series. In school, I enjoyed Mikhail Lermontov, John Steinbeck, Mark Twain, and so on. As an adult now, I greatly admire the works of Richard Russo and Pat Conroy.

 5) Are there any life experiences that influence your storytelling?
 I am definitely influenced by what I see and hear around me. Bits and pieces of myself, of people I have known, and of experiences I have had do indeed live in my writing. I enjoy language, and the way it is used. I enjoy observing the world around me, the way other individuals cope with the unexpected situations and events of their everyday lives.

 6) What are your current projects?
 I am nearly finished with my third novel, an international thriller set in both Germany and Saudi Arabia. COVERT DREAMS will probably be published on Amazon Kindle within a couple of weeks. It will then be listed for sale on my existing Amazon Kindle site.

 7) What was the hardest part of writing?
 The most difficult, by far, is marketing. As an Indie writer, I have to depend upon word-of-mouth advertising. I need people to first of all know about the very existence of my work, and then to purchase it to read, and then to post an honest review of it on my Amazon Kindle site and then to tell others about it.

 8) What are some of the most interesting things you’ve learned while writing?
 I have learned that creating characters is a lot of fun. I laugh and cry with the people I have created. I commiserate with them and learn from them. I enjoy seeing them display their human foibles and how they deal with the quandaries of life.
 
9) What do you do in your spare time?
 I do a lot of writing, and I read a lot. In addition, I am an avid traveler. My wife and I will often head up the California coast for a short trip, and we will, at least once a year, travel internationally.

 10) How can your readers get in touch with you?
 Visit my Amazon Kindle site. All my books are listed there and also on Amazon UK, Amazon Germany, and Amazon France. THE FAMOUS UNION is a rollicking romp through the halls of academia, where the often eccentric characters must cope with the absurd decisions made by the powers-that-be. THE SURVIVAL OF MARVIN BAINES is a whimsical look at one man’s coping with midlife.
 My Amazon Kindle site: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005E7M8CW
 THE FAMOUS UNION: http://www.amazon.com/The-Famous-Union-ebook/dp/B005FZMVB6/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpt_1
 THE SURVIVAL OF MARVIN BAINES: http://www.amazon.com/Survival-Marvin-Baines-ebook/dp/B005E4I0AE/ref=pd_sim_kinc1?ie=UTF8&m=AG56TWVU5XWC2

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

