A smattering of thoughts

I always spend my time in between blog entries deciding what to write about next.  Comments have a lot to do with it, daily life, current events, and just randomness spewing out into the atmosphere influence what I have to say.

But today, there’s just so much randomness that I’m just going to throw it all (okay, most of it) out there and try to make some sense of it.  So I will start with a disclaimer.  This may not make a lot of sense, and you may wonder why you’re reading this.  If this sounds like a waste of your time, stop now.  If not, please feel free to continue :).

The first day of class registration was today

First, today was the first day of course registration at my place of employment.  It’s been a pretty exciting day, as students realize that they need to start thinking about spring semester classes in January.  Luckily, all the students have been really awesome and understanding that if they’re not sure what classes they should sign up for they’ll have to wait about a week and a half to talk to a counselor.  It’s also a not so gentle nudge to me that I should have registered for my own classes on Friday.  Oh well, I’m guessing “Cultural Politics of GLBT Sexuality” isn’t going to fill up super fast. Although. . . there are only 11 seats left.  I really need to get on registering!

**Side note: I stopped writing to register.  Registration success!**

    I’ve also been thinking a lot about how girls and women are friends with each other.  Part of the reasoning behind that is because Paisley is starting to talk about her friends in her diary.  At first she was mentioning Shana a lot because Shana is her close friend on the volleyball team.  So I’ve been thinking a lot about that dynamic.  More specifically, how did me and my friends interact in high school?  For me, 9th grade was a really stressful time.  My dad just started a new job about three years of unemployment.  My mom developed a very serious case of cellulitis in her leg and was unable to walk for months.  As the oldest daughter, I felt like a lot fell to me.  I depended on my friends a lot.  Really, I even depended a lot on other girls in my grade to not make fun of me to much.  Unfortunately,going to the bathroom during lunch earned me a lot of teasing (why?).  “I can hear you pee” was a regular taunt for my lunch hour.  For whatever reason, I thought that was the worst thing ever.  The bathroom is supposed to be a safe space, right?  One thing that solidified my thoughts about female friends was this blog entry about the space between being enemies and friends.

The third big thought that has consumed me of the last few days has simply been “Man, I am so tired.”  I know, nothing profound.  I’m simply tired of school, my job, being a housewife, being a responsible adult, being ambitious, and the list goes on. 

So yes, nothing profound.  I just wanted to throw it out there.  Hopefully some of it resonated with you.

2 thoughts on “A smattering of thoughts”

  1. Female friendship are fascinating! Grade 7 was an awful time for me – I was picked on like woah. Among women, friendships can either save, or destroy. The topic is explored in Margaret Atwood’s Cat’s Eye. The first time I read it, I was reduced to a puddle of tears!

    Like

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

