Stumbling in academia

Can it really have been a week since I last wrote on here?  It honestly has been the most insane week ever.  However, I have not fallen off the face of the planet.

I just feel like this, but maybe I can come back!

So, this is just a brief update on what’s going on in my life, writing, and whatever else. 

 
If you follow me on Facebook or Twitter you’ve probably noticed that I’ve been totally overwhelmed with school work for the last week or so.  It’s true, school has been ridiculously insane.  I’ve had to do some obersation work, analyze a Hydroxycut ad (that was time consuming and fun-ish), and work the standard 40 hour work week.  So it’s not that I haven’t been writing.  I have been writing, a lot.  I’ve just been doing a lot of academic writing.  To be honest, it’s pretty overwhelming.
 
Another struggle that I feel I should share with you is more of an emotional one.  I suffer from Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD) and the last month has been pretty rough.  My poor husband has had to deal with a wife that is happy and cheerful one minute to crying her eyes out the next.  Believe me, it hasn’t been fun for either one of us.  I talked to my counselor about how I’ve been feeling (like I’m being crushed by water on all sides) a couple weeks ago (my appointments are every other week).  One thing that she thought might have brought it on (apart from the horrible weather) was our conversation the two weeks prior (so, we’re talking October 14th here, just to give you an idea of dates.)  It was a really intense conversation about what  Iwould do if I met my rapist in some kind of a public setting;  Target, a party, if he was visiting someone who lived in my apartment building.   I think you get the idea.  That may be true, I don’t really know.  I do know that over the last month as I’ve struggled to get back to myself, all the other stuff has been pretty overwhelming. 
 
Needless to say, as this long weekend approaches I’m looking forward to the break.  I’m proud to honor the men and women that serve(d) our country and I have to admit that I’m less proud about my excitement that their sacrifice gives me a three day weekend where I can gather my sanity, get some work done, and be ready for the next few weeks until the next three day weekend comes along.
 
 

 

3 thoughts on “Stumbling in academia”

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

