My head is getting crowded

Well, my good friends, I have to report that NaNoWriMo has been something of a bust.  Paisley is about half way through 9th grade (she’s super excited about Christmas) and while she’s anxious to finish the year (and who am I kidding, I’m excited to finish another book) she’s been on the back burner while I focus on finishing out the semester strong.

Unfortunately, my head has been crowded with new ideas for stories begging to be written.  The next project waiting to hop from the fridge to the boiling water is an unlikely love story between a feminist and an MRA.  Goodness knows it’s going to be a tough story to write, but I have a good man to turn into a feminist here.

The next few ideas that have been clamoring in my mind are due to a review on my first book “The Life and Times of Rebecca Walker.”  The reviewer, Tara, comments that there isn’t a whole lot of time to get to know the other characters because of the shortness of the story.  While my focus in this story is on Rebecca it occured to me that her friends are really great people who are worth getting to know too.  I recently wrote about how I can relate to Big Dan, but I haven’t talked much about the other characters.

*Warning- this section contains spoiler alerts.*

Aiden- a fellow photographer.  He’s much more established than Rebecca.  In my own life I can relate to his desire to help others succeed and to find new talent.  When I served at the treasurer for the Minnesota State College Student Association I constantly tried to encourage people to lead and to educate themselves about issues that were important to them.  As I came to the end of my one-year term many people asked me who I thought should run in the next election and who I thought would win.  It was a great experience.

Stephen-  a man who recruits photographers.  He is a regular customer at Rebecca’s diner and gives her advice as to how she can be successful.  However, he does this without telling Rebecca that he is a recruiter.  To be honest, he is the character that I identify with the least.  I am not secretive, at all. Stephen is a lot like my sweet husband (especially in his food choices!)

Phil- Rebecca’s agent.  Basically Phil is a complete tool who is only nice to Rebecca when she is doing well. While I cannot quite equate him to my own personality, I have him in the story as Rebecca’s abusive other.  At the end of the story I reveal that Rebecca was raped as a teen. Speaking from my own experience, even if you recognize that what happened to you is horrible it is easier to go back to what you know than to venture out into the unknown.  Rebecca recognizes that she doesn’t want to date anyone like that (which is why she isn’t in a relationship at the time we meet her) but there is still that pull for her to associate with people like that.

Tiffany- a close friend and model.  No, I do not look like a model.  But I am a friend and Tiffany is the type of friend I would like to have.  She’s somewhat vulnerable, but very strong.  She knows what she wants and she’s willing to work hard to get it.  And she’s also willing to bring her friends on board.  She recognizes the talents of her friends and works to cultivate them.

All these people all have their own stories.  Little pieces come out as we follow Rebecca, but they want the spotlight.  Their stories need to be known as well.

2 thoughts on “My head is getting crowded”

  1. NaNoWriMo was a bust for me, too. I made up a story on the fly and although it was fun for the first part, after I got past 10 000 words I just couldn’t do it anymore. There was no passion in the story and I wasn’t taking it seriously. However, it did inspire me to write more on my other story, which is a story I’m taking very, very slowly. So even though it was a bust, it still had some good from it. Don’t think I’ll participate next year, though.

    Like

    1. For me, it was more finding the time to actually write my book. Somehow, I feel as though I would have done more writing if I hadn’t been participating (strange, no?) and for that reason I don’t think I’ll participate again either.

      Like

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

