Talking to girls and women

This morning as I was doing my news rounds I came across this article in the Huffington Post on how to talk to girls.  The author focuses on how to talk to young girls about their personalities, interests, and character traits rather than focusing on their appearance.  I can certainly understand the conundrum that she presents.  Upon meeting a little girl do you give her a genuine complement about how cute she is or do you ask her what she’s interested in? How does what you say influence her frame of reference? 

Last night I sat down and wrote a little more of Paisley’s diary.  At this point in her story I know that she is exceptionally bright, she likes being with her friends, and she’s involved in her school community.  She loves her family and Christmas. I have to say, Paisley is someone I would have loved to be friends with in high school.  She has just been asked on her first date and she’s really excited and nervous.  It’s more of a group date, but the word date is definitely there.  It’s a New Year’s party with sledding and a movie.

My struggle is, as the date approaches I’m trying to figure out how she’s going to write about Miles.  Is she even going to write about him at all?  After the party Paisley is sleeping over at her friend Shana’s house.  Is that what she is going to focus on?  How are other going to talk to her that is going to give her a frame of reference?  Are they going to tease her because a couple months ago she was adamantly not attracted to Miles?  Are they going to say nothing?  Are they going to tell her that he’s really smart and fun to be around?  Are they going to focus on how they’re both quite good looking and make a great couple?  How her friends talk to her is going to influence how this date experience goes.  Also, how Miles talks to her will influence how she views the date and how she will approach dates in the future.

I’m not sure how the date will go yet. What I do know is that how other talk to her will influence how she views the experience.

6 thoughts on “Talking to girls and women”

  1. As a father of two young girls, I know that I need to work on this as well. Some many things to do and say to make sure that they grow up to be strong, confident young women.

    Like

    1. Nobody is perfect, but I’m sure you’ll do awesome :). It’s all about practicing. As the oldest of 6 kids (my parents had 4 girls in a row and then 2 boys at the end) I can say honestly that my dad did an awesome job, but it definitely requires practice.

      Like

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

