Sympathy for the Devil

I read a fantastic poem this morning by Wayward Wanderer about Satan.  You should definitely check it out, it’s excellent.

I mention this poem, not only because of how great it is, but because it got my own wheels turning about my thoughts on the Devil.  The song “Sympathy for the Devil” by the Rolling Stones is a really excellent one (lyrics here) but the title is much more reflective of my feelings toward Satan than the actual words to the song.

This is not to say that I’m exempt from temptation, because I’m certainly not.  But I often find that when I’m being tempted to do something wrong this helps me a lot.

I’ve been taught since childhood about a pre-mortal existence where we all existed before this world was created.   This is a teaching that I have continued to believe in as I’ve grown older.  Basically, before we were born we existed as spirits.  We lived with and learned from our Heavenly Parents. We wanted to be like them and we knew that the only way we could be like them was to gain bodies of our own.  It was at this point that two plans were presented to us. 

 The first was presented by our brother, Lucifer, the Son of the Morning.  He told us that through his plan we would all gain bodies and have no choice but to return back to our Heavenly Parents after we died. And the person that would be glorified for everyone returning would be  him.

The second plan was presented to us by our other brother, Jesus.  He explained to us that through his plan we would all gain bodies and we would have the choice to return to our Heavenly Parents again.  He also told us that because we would be imperfect beings he would prepare a way for us to repent of our sins.  He would atone for our sins, as a perfect person, so that we could choose to return to our Heavenly Parents again.  And the person that would be glorified would be our Heavenly Father.

After the plans were presented to us there was what is refered to as “The War in Heaven.”  I like to think of it more as “The Great Debate.”  The entire host of heaven debated what plan they were going to choose.  The understanding was that to choose Lucifer’s plan would mean to be cast out.  Those who chose that plan would never recieve a body of their own.

Ultimately, 1/3 of the host of heaven chose Lucifer’s plan and were cast out.  Those individuals will never gain their own bodies or have the opportunity to come back to their Heavenly Parents.  How tragic! 

So, whenever I find myself becoming angry at the state of things and thinking “How could God allow this to happen?”  I remember Satan and that he wants us to be “miserable like unto himself.”  And that our Heavenly Father loves us enough to allow us to choose our own path and to use our minds, rather than follow blindly.

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

