Washing the Washer

Well friends, I’m officially almost done with day 7 of not going to work.  It’s definitely weird and I’ve come to the conclusion that the title of homemaker is not for me quite yet (or perhaps ever.)

I’ll kick off by sharing what I did today.  I cleaned our apartment (it actually looks pretty awesome), organized the closet (with some handy tips from my sweet husband), did some editing on Rebecca’s story, watched “Ratatouille” and  debated going for a walk.  The walk didn’t win because it would have required me to actually put some decent clothes on.  My uniform of the past week has been yoga pants and a baggy t-shirt.

However, the point of this post is not to give you a play-by-play on my slothful, stay-at-home-wife ways.  The reason I’m writing about this is because I am infinitely grateful for all the people that are able to stay home to take care of their families.  Yes, at this point my family consists of my husband, cat (Merigold), and turtle (Francis.)  But still, I rather enjoy taking care of them and keeping them happy.  I just don’t think I can face it as a full time job.  And really, the most active person here (besides me) is Merigold and she sleeps a lot. Indeed, she is sleeping as I type this very second.  Francis is pretty quiet, so I think he may be sleeping too.  I can accept that if they were human children I would be intensely happy that they were asleep.  However, this is not the case.

So, to everyone out there who is perfectly happy being selfless at all times, I say thank you.  Particularly to my own mother.  My mom, until very recently, stayed home with us.  Grated, with six  children daycare costs would be astronomical. But it was no a financial decision that my parents made. My mom has confided in me that she would prefer to stay home with her kids if she had the choice.  She laments that she does not have that option at this point in time.

I will simply conclude by saying thank you to everyone who is more selfless than I am.  I have much to learn from you.

6 thoughts on “Washing the Washer”

  1. I hear you on this one. I couldn’t do it. I can barely wash the dishes without daydreaming about other things I could be doing. I’m pretty sure I was intended for other things, not that there is anything bad about being a homemaker. It’s not for everyone though.

    Like

  2. Rachel, wait till you get to be my age and you’ll be killing to stay home! hee hee! Really, I’m currently a homemaker and there isn’t enough time with all the things I have to do in this house. With two men, Roxy, and the construction of Smurf palace in the hallway, I’m exhausted. Every day feels like Groundhog day and come the evening, I find I’m still not done with chores! 🙂

    Like

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

