The Sweetest Thing

My sweet husband, Nathan, asked me if I was blogging today and what I wanted to talk about.  I told him that I wanted to blog but I had no idea what to talk about.  Do you ever feel like that?  Like you have something bursting to come out of you but you have no clue what it is or how to put whatever “it” is into words?  Well, that’s been me today.

Luckily, Nathan told me that if I was at a loss I could always talk about him.  I have decided to take him up on his offer. Now the only dilemma is what exactly to talk about.  There is so much!  I’ve elected to talk about when Nathan asked me to marry him.

Prior to our marriage we decided to get an apartment together. Prior to our decision to move in together I made it clear that if we did move in together it was my expectation that we would be married within a year.  I didn’t want to be 35 with three kids and still “living with my boyfriend.”  Nathan was amenable to this and we proceeded to look for apartments.

Side note:  We are still living in that apartment.  It’s great, even if it is ridiculously expensive.

Anyway, at this time I was working the overnight shift (10 pm to 6 am) and Nathan was working during the day.  As a result, we almost never saw each other.  I got home a mere 30 minutes before Nathan got up to get ready for work.  I also started to work at Metro State because we were pretty short on money (although now that makes me laugh, because we’re even shorter now, haha.)  This meant that we almost literally never saw each other.  However, I had Monday off each week and so we always had lunch together on Mondays.  Typically we went to McDonalds.

As the months passed my attempts at convincing Nathan that we should get married soon increased as I pointed out the various positive aspects of married life.  These included (but were not limited to) increased financial aid (we wouldn’t have to claim our parents income on the FAFSA anymore), increased happiness for him (studies have shown this), a better tax return (again, because of the school thing), and more stability in our status as a couple.  I was beginning to doubt that any of this was sinking in until one day in September when Nathan told me that if we got married he would be eligible for the PELL Grant for the first time in his life.  It was then that I knew my overt tactics were working.

Several weeks later we were at McDonalds (yes, it was a Monday) and Nathan said to me, “So, I’ve been thinking that we should get married by the end of the year” (this was in October.)  I have to admit, I was stunned.  The first thing I said was “Are you serious?” (In hindsight, probably not the best thing to say.)  Nathan said that he was indeed serious.  I said, “Awesome!  I would love to marry you.”

And the rest, as they say, is history.  We got married on December 17th, 2010.  We have both agreed that it is the best decision either one of us ever made.  We’ve definitely had (and are still having) some growing pains.  But honestly, marrying Nathan is the best thing I have ever done for myself.

2 thoughts on “The Sweetest Thing”

  1. Rachel, how sweet is Nathan for prompting you to use him as a blog post subject! You gotta love a man like that! I love how you presented him with convincing reasons to get married. And I’m glad he listened because it sounds like you are a wonderful couple! 🙂

    Like

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

