I am not yet dead, I can dance and I can sing

If you’re familiar with Spamalot, then you read the title to this blog correctly.  If you are not familiar with Spamalot then here is the song I have in mind.

It’s been a while since I did any blogging, mostly because of the insanity of school.  The end of the semester is a crazy time!  However, I heard something on the radio yesterday that I felt compelled to talk about.

I had never heard of One Direction until a month or so ago when Nathan & I were visiting my parents.  One Direction was being featured on the Disney Channel (yes I know, such discriminating taste!).  After that weekend, I started hearing about them everywhere!  And by everywhere I mean the radio station I usually listen to in the morning (I wrote a less than flattering post about them here).  They were talked about in the “gossip” section of the morning show and I hear their hit “You Don’t Know You’re Beautiful” every time I get into my car.

Initially I was thinking this was just another boy band.  Just like the boy band of  my childhood (Backstreet Boys and NSYNC) they were there just to sing ridiculous love songs and to get girls to go crazy over them.  About a week ago on the radio (yes, again!) I head that they had made a pledge that they were not going to date anyone over 24, and that it was part of their contract to not have girls in their rooms and what not white they where on tour.   While slightly strange I thought that seemed pretty reasonable to me.

And then yesterday around lunch time rolled around.  I was going to pick Nathan up for lunch and I heard that one of the boys from One Direction had invited two girls up to his room after a concert. *gasp*.  Ryan Seacrest then stated that of course this particular band member would be punished for breaking his contract.  But this was the part that really got me.  Seacrest then said that the girls would not be punished because “of course, they didn’t do anything wrong.”

My mind was blown!

I was shocked that the band manager would not also penalize the girls for accepting the invitation.  I don’t think that the girls deserve punishment, but rather I’m shocked (in a good way) that management wouldn’t blame the girls.  This is not the culture that I usually observe.  Does this mean that there is going to be a cultural shift from blaming the perpetrator and not the victim?  I don’t know but I certainly hope that this is the case.

2 thoughts on “I am not yet dead, I can dance and I can sing”

  1. Rachel, we can only hope this is the case! I was bracing myself as I neared your last paragraph thinking, here we go! Imagine my surprise when I read the young women were not blamed! There is a God! 🙂

    Like

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

