Resisting the Urge

Over the last several weeks I have been resisting the urge to start shrieking, “I’m melting, I’m melting,” every time I step outside of my nicely air-conditioned apartment. Upper 90’s and low 100’s do not sit will with this lady, that’s for sure!

However, now that it’s cooling off and I’m getting back into a routine I realized it’s been a while since I sat down and actually wrote a post for no reason.  I’ve been doing Six Sentence Sunday and Comic Monday faithfully, but that’s about it (at least, in terms of writing on here.)

That said, I have been doing quite a bit in other areas.  I started a new job about three weeks ago (how could it possibly be that long already!?).  I’m working as an office manager for a student advocacy group.  It’s been awesome!  And as it turns out, I’m on a career path at the moment that I certainly didn’t expect.  A large part of my job involves bookkeeping (or. . .  accounting, if you will.) And as it turns out, I kind of like it. I once took an accounting class in high school. To put it lightly, I didn’t do very well. Amazing what 9 years can do, hehe. My boss excitedly told me that I was on track to be a Finance Director within the next 10+ years. And oddly, I don’t actually mind that.  I’m not sure what’s going on in my brain, but I think I like it.

I’ve also been doing a fair amount of work for school.  I finally just finished my independent-study course from h-e-double hockey sticks! Now I just have “Philosophy & Sexuality” and “Childbirth in the U.S.” The second one is certainly the most interesting to me. That may be because I picked the topic myself, haha.  Although, it’s having an odd effect on my psyche when it comes to actually having a baby someday. I’m focusing on how fear became such a huge component in having a baby. In my research I came across a study that states that women who are afraid to have a baby are in labor, on average, 2.5 hours more than women who are not afraid to have a baby. As a result, I am now afraid of being afraid to have a baby.  Go figure that one out, haha.  In “Philosophy & Sexuality” I am writing a paper about how we place value on love. I know I should be pulling out my right-brain philosophical self, but I’m somehow managing to look at it in a left-brain analytic way.  Seriously, what is going on with my brain!?

Finally, I am sad to report that my attempts at balcony gardening have failed spectacularly. Mostly due to the heat my poor little plants have baked alive, despite my best efforts to keep them alive.  So, I’ll just be looking forward to having an actual patch of ground to garden in.  I have a suspicion that they’ll do much better in actual earth.  In the mean time, out dwarf lemon tree is doing remarkably well.  At least we’ll have lemons some time soon, hehe.

 

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

