Shorter Days

Autumn is officially upon us! The leaves are turning brilliant colors, the nursery that is my view has fields full of mums, the presidential election is in full swing, and the days are getting shorter.

I’m not sure which of these last two I have more difficulty with. Election season is negative, messy, and sometimes just downright depressing. In 2008 there was so much hope, why can’t this go around be more like that? Why can’t citizens be excited about the prospect of moving their country forward? Unfortunately, it’s business as usual and that is downright depressing.

And shorter days . . . Even those of you who do not have a history of depression feel the effects of less sunlight upon how you feel. For me, suffering from SAD seems to begin earlier and earlier each year. Why this is, I have no idea. Usually I can deal effectively with my depression by eating healthfully and exercising. Working on projects can be helpful if I can bring myself to actually do it. Poor Paisley is still waiting for school to start, comics are unwritten, and the load of laundry in the dryer is waiting to be put away.

The darker seasons are always harder for me. How do you cope with the difficulties associated with less sunlight and the barrage of negative political campaign ads?

4 thoughts on “Shorter Days”

  1. My two cents: Avoid television news at all costs. It’s vapid any time of year, but the commercials are especially awful now. Get your news by reading it or listening to commercial-free radio.

    Like

  2. Rachel, I can so relate to this post! I’m staying away from all news coverage on the elections for the same reasons you mention. It’s simply too depressing. Lack of sunlight is not good for anyone. I am currently suffering from a Vitamin D deficiency. Not even six weeks in sunny Spain was able to restore my levels to what is deemed “normal.” And so, I try to take as much sunlight as I can, which is extremely difficult with the arrival of fall and the amount of rain we’ve been having. Sigh. Depressing, I tell you! 🙂

    Like

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

