I am not yet dead . . .

As always happens when it’s been a while since I’ve blogged I feel the need to share this song. That’s right folks . . . “I feel happy, I feel happy!”

In the last month since I shared how difficult it was for me to stay home I have since acquired three (or in some definitions, four) new jobs.   I went from . . .

. . .basically feeling like this . . .

To

. . . wearing a lot of hats!

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love everything that I’m doing. I’m just also reeling from the quick shift from the voice in my head going “Nobody wants you,” to “You’re the most popular kid in school!”  Literally one (or two, if you prefer) of my jobs are at my local middle school. I was hired to be an AVID tutor and once I was hired they begged me to also be a lunch aid.

For those of you who don’t know, AVID stands for Advancement via Individual Determination and it’s basically a college preparatory program for students in grades 4-12. I work with students in grades 7-9 and it is awesome! I work with them twice a week as a tutor to help them to be academically successful.

In the cafeteria I’m one of the people that makes sure that students in grades 6-8 don’t get into any shenanigans during lunch time. So far it’s been an interesting experience. By far my most interesting experience involved a student in 8th grade spending a considerable amount of time trying to convince me that I was 14 and not 24. Come to think of it, that could be a pretty good comic, hehe.

I consider those two positions to be one job because I do them in the same location (ie, the middle school). But I can see how you could consider them to be two jobs as well :).

In addition to this I am also babysitting two darling children, A & E (A is 4, E is 1) on the days that I am not doing AVID. Their parents are both phenomenal people, nurses at a local hospital, and I really enjoy being able to participate in their family. The parents, J (the mom) and C (the dad) are very relaxed people. Truthfully, I feel really lucky.

Finally, I just started giving piano lessons today! Two little boys, both eight years old. I’m really excited for the unique challenges that both of them will present.

As I get settled into these new positions I’m also getting started back into writing. Paisley has been neglected for far too long and I miss writing comics. I also feel much more comfortable writing about Paisley now that I am spending a fair amount of my time with her peers. And it’s much easier to write comics about your life when there’s actually some life happening to you outside the four walls of your home.

And now to get to writing!

4 thoughts on “I am not yet dead . . .”

  1. Hi Rachel, Congrats on all your new activities and financial opportunities! When it rains it pours. Or when it snows, it sometimes won’t stop. Or something like that. :>)

    Like

  2. Rachel, congratulations! Here’s where the old cliche comes in and we’re able to say, “good things come to those who wait!” You go girl! It sounds like you are super busy. Will you be able to find time to write, I wonder. Please tell me the answer to this question is yes! Hugs! 🙂

    Like

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

