My mother told me. . .

It’s been quite some time since I’ve written anything. As it turns out, having a baby really changes everything about your life.

I’m exiting the fog that has been Elizabeth’s first year of life. There have been a lot of changes from

Here
Here – March 5, 2014 after 3 days of active labor

to

Here
Here – January 24, 2015, just a nice regular day of “nom, nom, noming” on Elizabeth’s hand

I have to be honest, it’s been a HUGE learning experience. The biggest thing I’ve learned is that I don’t know diddly-squat about anything.

The biggest thing I was unprepared for were the challenges associated with going back to a paid 9-5 (okay, 8:00-4:30 in my case) work day. If I had a dollar for every time I have thought something along the lines of “Nothing in my life prepared me for what this would be like” I wouldn’t have to work for money.

During this time I have garnered strength (and sanity) from many “mommy blogs” out there in the world. There have been big ones like Babble and Parents and the Bump, which give me guidance on various issues. But more than that there are the mom bloggers out there like Chaunie Brusie from Tiny Blue Lines, Meghan over at Violet Sage, Tales from the Mommy Trenches, or Julie from the Happy Home Fairy that make me think “Yeah, yeah, I can do this mom thing. Maybe I’m doing okay here and I won’t be ridiculously tired all the time forever.”

Despite all these wonderful resources for us as parents, I haven’t really been coming across anything that was really what I needed. Where was the blog for mama’s who worked away from home that had no preparation for it? Yes, I had 10 months of pregnancy to prepare. But as my own mother was dominantly a stay-at-home mom there have not really been any role models in my life who worked away from home.

Coupled with the fact that I grew up in the 90’s, when the “mommy wars” reached their zenith, I have a pretty healthy helping of guilt over leaving my daughter during the day and sometimes being too tired to cook a nutritious dinner in the evening and so my husband and I eat McDonalds and I warm up some chicken nuggets and cut up a clementine for Elizabeth.

So, coming out of this year I thought “Why can’t I provide that perspective?” I don’t claim to be an authority, and when it comes to parenting I don’t think that anyone can really claim that. But I also know what a relief it is to have someone else put into words what I have been thinking.

Over the next few weeks you can look forward to a rebranding of this page as I talk about challenges in parenting, pulling in personal examples and outside sources.

I am looking forward to the ride!

 

Sit back, relax, and enjoy this ride with us!
Sit back, relax, and enjoy this ride with us!
I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

