Self-Care is just another word for nothing left to give

There’s no doubt that self-care is critically important. That said, there seems to be such an emphasis on “taking time for yourself” that it’s easy to feel stressed out about de-stressing yourself.  With so much on our plates, “making time for ourselves just feels like. . . another task.”

And it’s true – just another thing to add to “the list.” Another potentially expensive, time-consuming, task that needs your attention.

Or is it?

Tara over at The Young Mommy Life talks about myths surrounding self-care. Self-care doesn’t have to be expensive, time-consuming, or lonely. Seriously, it’s amazing!

So really, how can you build a life that makes self-care a priority and not just something else that needs to be done? This week I’ll be talking about some things that work for me and I hope they work for you too!

 

If you fail to plan, you plan to fail

I am a list maker. Making lists and crossing things off helps me to feel accomplished and ultimately helps me to get more done.

Sometimes I’ll even add things to my “to-do” list that I’ve already done just to give me the boost I need to keep going.

 

February 10 List Meme

 

What I would consider to be my most successful weeks are the weeks where I sit down on a Friday night (oh, just wait for it. I get crazy!) and plan out what I want to accomplish each day the following week, what I will be making for dinner on the days I make dinner (I cook 3 times a week), make a grocery list, and what self-care activity I will be doing each day (see, I told you. Crazy stuff.)

 

Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff

“Don’t sweat it!” is so easy to say and less easy to do. Without exaggeration, I can truly say that I am the queen of sweating the small stuff.

My ultimate nemesis when it comes to stressing out over basically nothing is undone housework.

If the bathroom doesn’t get cleaned once a week we’ll all get mold poisoning.

Dirty dish on the counter? Might as well sign me up to be on an episode of hoarders.

Didn’t have time to pack lunch this morning so we have to get fast food instead? Hello, diabetes.

February 10 Diabetes meme

 

The best tool I’ve developed for not “sweating it” is setting a time limit. My magic time limit is 30 minutes. After E goes to bed (blessed, blessed bedtime!) I spend 30 minutes tackling housework. It’s really a two-fold reward system, as far as I’m concerned.

When the 30 minutes gets done: “Go me! Look at everything I did in just 30 minutes!”

When the 30 minutes doesn’t get done: “Welp, I’m 24 weeks pregnant. It’s only 30 minutes, I’ll try again tomorrow.”

After that 30 minutes is done, bring on the self-care! I’ll do a little writing, take a bath, or play way to many levels of Awesome Blossom.

 

Do what works for you

Self-care looks different for everyone, and that’s okay. Knowing yourself and what helps you to relax is great!

You could be like Sharny Kieser – expert multi-tasker and mom of six who has perfected “breastercising”. (Side note: If you Google “breastercising” make sure you spell it with an “s” and not a “z”. Oh, my retinas!) Or just exercising in general. If it’s your thing, I applaud you!

Maybe you’re a writer like Chaunie Brusie, Janelle Hanchet, or Allison Cooper.

If having a glass of wine at the end of the day is your thing, go for it!

Do a craft with your kids, like Julie over at Happy Home Fairy.

Read a book.

Take a nap.

Just sit there and do nothing.

But whatever you do, make sure it helps you to feel relaxed and rejuvenated!

February 10 Be Nice To Yourself Image

 

Conclusion

What do you do to take care of yourself? Ultimately, what does self-care even mean to you?

I will see you again on February 24th! In the meantime, feel free to hop on over to Twitter where I share funny, and not so funny, parenting moments, share articles that inspire me, and connect with other mamas.

14 thoughts on “Self-Care is just another word for nothing left to give”

  1. Writing and sitting silently are my most frequent forms of self care. I want to get back into exercise. Heavy squats make my world go round–something I never thought would be on my personal radar. It’s a strange world.

    Like

  2. lmao!! “If the bathroom doesn’t get cleaned once a week we’ll all get mold poisoning” – are you my wife incognito? Haha.

    But you’re right in everything you say. Yes. I agree 🙂

    Like

  3. A good message for me at the moment. Thank you, Rachel. I’m exhausted from repeatedly traveling to my brother’s home for a few years, especially this year. The last two 8 hour drives were rushing “get here now” trips. I need to rest and let go of goals other than self-care. I’m trying to figure out how to simplify and give myself time to grieve. Eating well, sleeping well, and gentle exercise are essential. And I need soul food from reading, being in nature, and writing. Like my brother, I’m not good at dropping a goal-oriented approach to life and letting things flow. It’s time to learn how.

    Like

    1. Poor Elaine! I really mean that sincerely, family emergencies (in my experinece) are the biggest detractors from self-care. We love our families so much, it is hard to remember we need to replenish our own wells to take care of them.

      Like

  4. I agree! We need to take that time for ourselves. I have been lately and it feels great! Now that my daughter is going to school for a couple of hours in the morning I am getting some time in for myself. I have been diving into the stack of books in my tbr pile and working on my blog. Honestly, the only person that notices when the house isn’t clean is me anyway 😉

    Like

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

