Stop, Mommy, Stop

I have spent the last two weeks trying to hone in on exactly what it is that I want to say. I have to admit, it’s been a struggle!

I’m currently reading Unfinished Business: Women Men Work Family.
Anne-Marie Slaughter does an awesome job of talking about the change we need & how to get there.

E has recently been experiencing a rebound in separation anxiety. Every morning when I drop her off there are tears and exhortations “Stop, Mommy (oh yeah, now I’m Mommy!), stop!” Seriously, the guilt is unbelievable. Although all her caretakers are wonderful and assure me that she is actually having a great day, the struggle is real.

 

Disney on Ice

N and I are both struggling at work. Toxic environments abound and keeping our home a safe haven is a struggle.

I find the perspective offered by E’s biggest problem – I won’t let her have Peeps for breakfast – to be pretty helpful. If that’s the biggest issue she regularly communicates on, we’re probably doing okay.

So with all these challenges, what can be done to “have it all.”

What I have come to is adjusting our expectations – something that Ms. Slaughter outlines so beautifully.  There’s this idea, one that I have found to be amazingly oppressive, that for women to “have it all” we must “do it all.”

I don’t know about you guys, but I sure can’t do it all. I even shared over on Lucky Otters Haven that I struggle to read the blog posts I want to. So here we are:

If we can let go of the mountain of assumptions, biases, expectations, double standards, and doubts that so many of us carry around, then a new world of possibilities awaits. We may lose our status as superwomen, but we have everything to gain.

Like all our kids (and okay, us too) have been singing for the last two years, “Let it Go!”

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

