Civic Engagement Stream of Consciouisness

I recently had the privilege of going to Game 5 of the WNBA playoffs (Go Lynx!) and, as has been the case over the course of this WNBA season I had the opportunity to reflect on the national anthem.

I’ve never considered myself to be a “sports person”, and I think that although I am a serious Lynx fan I am still not strictly a fan of sports. Instead I am a fan of the incredible women that make up the Lynx team.

This season, although they did not kneel, they took a serious stand against police brutality. I have never been more proud to be a fan.

But still, I stand and hold my baby while they play the national anthem at the beginning of each game. I stand and my heart swells with pride in knowing that I am a citizen of the United States.

I am proud to live here, proud to pay my taxes, and proud to do my part to make this an incredible place to be. I am proud of the incredible men and women who work so hard to protect our interests at home and abroad.

But I am also disappointed in my country. I am disappointed that a xenophobic, ethnocentric, misogynistic. . . terrible excuse for a human being has risen to be considered for one of the highest offices in our land. I am disappointed that the militarization of law enforcement has led to extreme violence and a loss of life. I am disappointed, and quite frankly terrified, that my daughters live in a culture that will someday expect them to be everything for everyone and need nothing for themselves.

The United States is like a bad boyfriend. Taking and taking and taking

Until

There

Is

Almost

Nothing.

And then giving you a little nugget that makes you think maybe this isn’t so bad.

This really is just a stream of consciousness post. But if you take anything from it, please get out to your polling place on November 8 and vote. Vote for a president who will lead from a place of sincerity (or as close as you can get). Vote for Representatives and Senators who know how to work with others. Vote for state, county, city, and local representatives who will work hard for your votes and make where you live a great place for everyone.

october-5-image

3 thoughts on “Civic Engagement Stream of Consciouisness”

  1. This is a powerful piece. I agree with you. I feel very lucky to have been born in the USA, but I can’t pretend that it’s perfect here. This post has inspired me to really think…and probably inspired me to write a post as well. (Will link yours in mine if I write one. )

    Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

