Beacon

I am privileged to be able to participate in this week’s Flash Fiction Challenge on The Carrot Ranch. The prompt I am responding to is “Beacon”. I hope you enjoy!

Beacon

“I know your name,”

She was standing at the kitchen sink, feeling low as she sipped her coffee. She looked up to see Moana.

As the tears flowed out she realized how invisible and alone she felt.

“What’s wrong, Mama?” Her little one ran over.

“I just love you so much,” she said.

Her little face lit up with a smile a mile wide that shone like a beacon, cutting through the darkness in her soul.

“I love you too, Mama.”

As they embraced the smile of the baby became another beacon of love that shone through the dark.

3 thoughts on “Beacon”

  1. Rachel, this is such a lovely and tender expression of the prompt. Motherhood, like writing, is often lonely, but when we have such bright beacons of love we find our way through. I enjoyed having your flash at the Ranch!

    Like

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

