Scattered Self-Care

I have to admit, I’ve really struggled to pull any kind of a thought together for my post this week. There have been some exciting times in the Hanson household. Electric is consistently using the potty and Adorable is continuing to improve her language skills. I think she’s on the cusp of walking, as her younger peers are now cruising around on two legs. Thank goodness our daycare provider is basically a sainted human being. I’ve been fortunate to continue building my home at The Relationship Blogger and visit Levo in the last few weeks!

My scatterbrained feeling is something I think actually warrants a post, just to help me gain some clarity. If this makes no sense, I apologize.

July 21 Photo

About a year ago I read this post over on The Honeyed Quill. In the piece, Shawna talks about her experience of being an adult with ADHD. I was surprised as I read it to discover that I kept thinking “That describes me. Oh yeah, that describes me too. And that, and that. . . “ I kept unintentionally coming across posts talking about the lived experience of adult women who have been diagnosed with ADHD. At some point, a coincidence has to stop being a coincidence. I hit that point earlier this week as I was driving to my clinic to talk to someone about these terrible and persistent headaches I’ve been experiencing recently. On the drive I was listening to the most recent Stuff Mom Never Told You podcast about women with ADHD. Once again I thought “What they are saying is describing me perfectly.”  Finally, I made it to the clinic and I came to a decision. When discussing what I thought might be causing, or at least contributing to the headaches, I decided to mention ADHD. Through the tears as I discussed everything that is stressing me out I said, “I know that everything I’m saying is a lot. It would stress anyone out. But I also think that there is an underlying issue like ADHD that makes it more difficult to cope.” The doctor agreed and referred me to a therapist for some diagnostic testing because what I was describing could be a number of conditions and some extra help to manage stress would be, well, helpful.

With all of this, I really have to conclude by saying that I hope you’re engaging in self-care. Advocate for yourself, you matter so much!

5 thoughts on “Scattered Self-Care”

  1. You make some important points here. First, you allowed the pattern you were seeing to swell to the point of truth. You held your mind open enough to allow new information in. Second, you made the conscious decision to share the. Ew information as an advocate for yourself. Not long ago, I tried to explain away symptoms I was feeling because I felt ashamed of what I thought might be happening. Only when I said, “I’m being silly. Reality is reality and it’s only something to be ashamed of if I let it be. I can approach this with heaviness or lightness. I choose lightness.” To me that means approaching wierd medical stuff with a sense of humor and self-acceptance. What I read in your post resonated with me, reminding me of my own journey. Thank you for sharing your experience and how you let the light in.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so glad this post resonated with you, Angela! I love how you put it, “I choose lightness.”

      I was talking to one of my coworkers about this yesterday. I thought many of the things I was experiencing were a result of being in a fairly toxic work environment. I’m in a new environment now, but I was still experiencing a lot of the symptoms. I’m excited to talk about this more as I move through the journey.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so glad to see this post! It is hella difficult to engage in self-care, especially in this society as it demonizes self-care, and doubly-especially when so many medicos ignore the symptoms of those who are AFAB.

    I’m glad that you are taking care of yourself, and I look forward to reading more posts.

    Like

    1. Thanks Justin! I truly think that for everyone in our “American exceptionalism” society self-care is thrown by the wayside. There’s this (really, very stupid) notion that if you can’t pick yourself up by your bootstraps you don’t deserve help.

      Like

I love hearing from you! Please feel free to leave a comment.

